THE PAPER MILL

About us

NOVILLARS: 135 YEARS OF PAPER MAKING AND ALWAYS UP TO DATE

The GEMDOUBS Paper Mill is located in the municipality of Novillars, 10km to the Northeast of the city of Besançon (France) and has a total surface area of 13.6 hectares. It employs almost 70 people. GEMDOUBS' industrial process consists of producing recycled paper from used paper and card. GEMDOUBS produces around 85,000 tons of C.B.P (corrugated base paper) per year, mainly for manufacturers of corrugated boxes for mass distribution, industrial packaging or e-commerce.

Our papers

GEMDOUBS makes C.B.P. (Corrugated Base Paper) whose characteristics can vary depending on customer requirements. Its main application is manufacture by our box plant customers of corrugated cardboard, which can be shaped and printed to produce all kinds of packaging: mass distribution and agri-food, industrial, e-commerce... 
Different papers can therefore be produced: Testliner, Cannelure... 

Sizes and grammages available:

  • Width: any within the limit of our 3.35 m machine.

  •  Grammage: from 115 g/m² to 200 g/m².

Our certifications 

Our management system is certified:

  • ISO 9001 : 2015 - Quality management systems,

  • ISO 14001 : 2015 -Environmental management systems,

  • ISO 50001 : 2015 - Energy management systems.

 

Our products are ISEGA certified (products for the use in the food sector).

HISTORY

Key dates 

1883 :

Founding of Papeteries J.B. WEIBEL. At the time paper was produced from wood. The site would be the first in France to manufacture paper by extracting the cellulose by the procedure using calcium bisulphite. Several paper machines and hundreds of employees would work at Novillars. In collaboration with Count Hilaire of Chardonnet, inventor of pulp-based artificial silk (also called viscose or rayon), development of the site associated with the Prés de Caux, the Chardonnet silk company founded in 1889, which later became La Rohdiaceta, today a brownfield site that Besançon city council is planning to redevelop.

1952 :

Takeover by CENPA, which in 1960 became "la Rochette CENPA". The site became the specialist in sulfphurised paper for the packaging of greasy foodstuffs (butter, ham, etc.). The advent of plastic packaging led to the decline of this activity during the 1980s. In 1982 the company became S.I.P.N. (Société Industrielle et Papetière de Novillars), then the site was taken over by NOVIPAP in 1987.

1989 :

Founding of the Papeterie du Doubs paper mill by the Cartonneries Associées (Associated Box Makers) (OTOR Group). The site became one of this consolidated group's paper mills. Transformation of the existing machine to produce C.B.P. (Corrugated Base Paper), paper recycled from packaging paper and cardboard (circular economy).

2004 :

Prize Winner: 2 regional prizes awarded by the Mouvement Français de la Qualité.

2005 :

The company became a Bird Sanctuary approved by the L.P.O. (Society for the Protection of Birds).

2012 :

Soenen retires: bankruptcy petition and judicial liquidation..

2013 :

Founding of the company GEMDOUBS S.A.S. by Messrs Fady and Nabil Gemayel, takeover of the site; restarting of industrial operation.

2014 :


ISEGA Food-Grade Certification.

2015 :

Production of 80,000 tons of recycled paper. 
Prix Trophée des Entreprises de Franche-Comté 2015 (prize winner),"Economic hopes" category. 

  • ISO 9001 : 2015 - Quality management systems

  • ISO 14001 : 2015 -Environmental management systems

2017 :

In September 2017, Gemdoubs obtained a new ISO 50001 : 2015 - Energy Management Systems certification.

This certification means that Gemdoubs aims to reduce energy consumption by implementing an energy management system (EMS).

Early 2019 :

Official launch of the CBN biomass cogeneration plant, which supplies steam to the paper mill.

THE PAPER MILL

Rue Jean Baptiste Weibel

25 220 NOVILLARS

OUR SCHEDULES

Du lundi au jeudi 

8h - 12h  13h30 -17h15

Le vendredi 

8h - 12h

CONTACT US

contact@gemdoubs.com

T : 03 81 51 28 60

©Gemdoubs 2019 - tout droits réservés

LA PAPETERIE

Qui sommes nous ?

NOVILLARS : 135 ANS DE PAPIER ET TOUJOURS À LA PAGE

La Papeterie GEMDOUBS est située sur la commune de Novillars à 10 km au nord-est de la ville de Besançon, sur une surface totale de 13,6 hectares. Elle emploie près de 70 personnes. Le processus industriel de GEMDOUBS consiste à produire du papier recyclé à partir de papiers et cartons usagés. GEMDOUBS produit environ 85 000 tonnes par an de P.P.O. (Papier Pour Ondulé), principalement destiné aux fabricants de packagings en carton ondulé pour la grande distribution, l'emballage industriel ou le e-commerce.

Nos papiers

GEMDOUBS fabrique du P.P.O. (Papier Pour Ondulé) dont les caractéristiques peuvent varier en fonction de la demande des clients. L'application principale est la fabrication par les clients cartonniers de carton ondulé, lequel peut être façonné et imprimé pour produire toutes sortes de packagings : grande distribution et agro-alimentaire, industriels, e-commerce... Différents papiers peuvent ainsi être produits : du Testliner, de la Cannelure... 

Dimensions et grammages proposés :

  •  Laize : toute largeur dans la limite de notre machine de 3,35 m.

  • Grammage : de 115 g/m² à 200 g/m².

Nos certifications 

Certifications : 
Notre système de management est certifié :
•    ISO 9001 : 2015 - Systèmes de management de la qualité,
•    ISO 14001 : 2015 - Systèmes de management environnemental,
•    ISO 50001 : 2011 - Systèmes de management de l'énergie.

Nos produits sont certifiés ISEGA (Alimentarité).
 

HISTORIQUE

Les dates marquantes

1883 :

Création des Papeteries J.B. WEIBEL. Le papier est à l'époque produit à partir de bois. Le site sera le premier en France à fabriquer le papier en extrayant la cellulose par le procédé au bisulfite de calcium. Plusieurs machines à papier et des centaines d'employés vont travailler à Novillars. En collaboration avec le Comte Hilaire de Chardonnet, inventeur de la soie artificielle à base de pâte à papier (dite aussi viscose ou rayonne), développement du site associé des Prés de Vaux, la Société de la soie Chardonnet créée en 1889, devenue plus tard la Rhodiaceta, aujourd'hui friche industrielle que la ville de Besançon projette de réhabiliter.

1952 :

Reprise par CENPA devenue en 1960 « la Rochette CENPA ». Le site devient le spécialiste du papier sulfurisé, destiné à l'emballage alimentaire des corps gras (beurre, jambon...). L'apparition des emballages en plastique entraîne le déclin de cette activité au cours des années 1980. L'entreprise devient en 1982 S.I.P.N. (Société Industrielle et Papetière de Novillars), puis le site est repris par NOVIPAP en 1987.

1989 :

Création de la Papeterie du Doubs par les Cartonneries Associées (Groupe OTOR). Le site devient l'une des papeteries de ce groupe intégré. Transformation de la machine actuelle pour produire du P.P.O. (Papier Pour Ondulé), papier recyclé à partir de papiers et de cartons d'emballage (économie circulaire)

2004 :

Lauréat : 2 prix régionaux du Mouvement Français de la Qualité.

2005 :

L'entreprise devient Refuge de la L.P.O. (Ligue de Protection des Oiseaux).

2012 :

Retrait de Soenen : dépôt de bilan et liquidation judiciaire.

2013 :

Création de la société GEMDOUBS S.A.S. par Messieurs Fady et Nabil Gemayel, reprise du site ; redémarrage de l'exploitation industrielle.

2014 :

Certification Alimentarité ISEGA.

2015 :

Production de 80 000 Tonnes de papier recyclé. Prix Trophée des Entreprises de Franche-Comté 2015, catégorie "Espoirs de l'économie".

Certification ISO 9001 : 2015 - Systèmes de management de la qualité.
Certification ISO 14001 : 2015 - Systèmes de management environnemental.

2017 :

Gemdoubs a obtenu en septembre 2017 une nouvelle certification ISO 50001 : 2011 - Systèmes de management de l'énergie.
Cette certification signifie que Gemdoubs vise à réduire la consommation d’énergie par la mise en œuvre d’un système de management de l’énergie (SMÉ).

Debut 2019 :

Lancement officiel de la centrale de cogénération biomasse CBN, qui fournit de la vapeur à la papeterie.

La papeterie

Rue Jean Baptiste Weibel

25 220 NOVILLARS

NOS HORAIRES

Du lundi au jeudi 

8h - 12h  13h30 -17h15

Le vendredi 

8h - 12h

NOUS CONTACTER

contact@gemdoubs.com

T : 03 81 51 28 60

©Gemdoubs 2019 - tout droits réservés